Notre Dame Academy crest

Story Details

Boys hockey team wins FRCC title
Boys hockey team wins FRCC title
Notre Dame Academy

The Notre Dame Academy boys hockey team secured the Fox River Classic Conference title Jan. 25 by upending Bay Port, 4-1, in the title game of the FRCC tournament at the Cornerstone Community Center.

Eli Canadeo, Riley Onell and Sawyer Scholl scored goals in the third period to power the Tritons to the victory. Scholl also scored the Tritons' first goal of the game in the opening period, while Bo Buckley made 17 saves.

NDA improved to 16-1 overall on the season with the win.

Scholl was named the FRCC player of the year and was one of five NDA players to earn first team all-FRCC honors. The others were defensemen Jacob Conrad and Sam Peterman, forward Brendan Poshak and goalie Bo Buckley.

Corbin Skinner was named second team all-FRCC as a defenseman, while forward Josh DeLange, forward Callan Budinger, defenseman Reid Milton and goalie Xander Roberts received honorable mention.

Cory McCracken was named FRCC coach of the year.

Team photo courtesy of Rich Roberts.

Boys hockey team wins FRCC title